new to board and fretless!

kell_boy

new to board and fretless!

Post by kell_boy » Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:49 am

New to the forum, so hi guys! Just wanted to share with you my experience playing a fretless bass which i picked up for the 1st time a week ago and get some feeback advice share insights yada yada!

So basically ive been playing fretted basses for 10 years on and off now, just playing in a few rock bands etc, and thought after a cheap ebay deal, would give fretless ago! Id been losing a bit of interest and 'plateauing' in the normal bass and thought it would spark some interest again and it has.

Ill be honest, I should know better music theory and revise my scales (i did used to but what I dont put into practice I easily forget) I dont generally struggle to write bass lines as I can use my ear to hear the key of a song without knowing too much theory!

So been playing the fretless bass to try to improve my musical ear and its done wonders in just a week, what would normally take me ages to figure out is taking half the time, being working out palladinos bass lines to some paul young and loving it, no idea why I find it easier all of a sudden (tho being able to slide to a pitch to match the song helps alot).

Only problem is with my cheap fretless bass is
1. the lines are to faint
2. the side dots sit in the middle of the fret not on the line.

This makes playing it in even slightly dim lighting a complete pain in the backside, Ive thought about scratching off the dots and trying to move them or make my own dots, but just wondering if you could give me any advice?

I was also wondering how many of you get lost by lines without dots, Im trying to figure out if id be more suited to a bass with lines, or with just side dots (much prefer the look of no lines but intonation is always important). Only problem is I cant really try either type out as music stores near me dont stock fretless basses! So bit of a conundrum!

Sorry for the wall of text! :)