New guy here...

kopio

New guy here...

Post by kopio » Mon May 07, 2012 10:35 pm

Hey Guys,

New fretless player checking in here. I am a long time musician, short time bass player. Started playing the alto sax about 25 years ago. Eventually I got turned on to David Sanborn...which really got me into Marcus Miller. After that I got into more fusion/funk jazz and fell in love with Weather Report. Needless to say, I'm a fairly bonafide Jaco nut! The descent into the bassment continued from there with exposure to guys like Victor Bailey, Stanley Clarke, Brian Bromberg and Victor Wooten. I finally had a buddy (Bass player...go figure) who had an extra axe. He was 100% fretless, but he had a nice old Dean Edge European Custom fretted bass he sold me for a good deal, along with a Peavy TNT 115 amp. Bought the bass about 5 years ago I guess. I'm completely self taught on bass, but I read and write music quite well (was a music education major first time through college).

So I started itching for a fretless really bad a while back. But I'm married, kids, mortgage and all that, so I had to do it on the cheap. I kept my eye on GC and ended up getting a Squier Vintage Modified Fretless (alá Jaco) with EMGHZ pickups! I scored it for $149.99!! Just showed up in the mail today (yes, I bought it sight unseen) and I am loving it. So far the fretless thing doesn't seem too awfully different than the fretted thing. I have very strong relative pitch, so staying in tone doesn't seem too tough right now. Then again....I've only had it for a day.

Anyhow...just wanted to introduce myself and say hello. If you have any suggestions as far as method books, dvd's or suggested listening I am always open to suggestions. I've been hitting the board here pretty hard looking into setup, and have found some good answers to tweak my setup and make things sound a little better.

Hope to see you around..

Warmest Regards,

-Matt (aka kopio)

FretLessSince68