Introduction

Pete Howlett

Introduction

Post by Pete Howlett » Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:20 pm

I build ukulele for a living and last year completed a 5 string electric bass ukulele with LED side dots (dimable) - never again! I'm revisiting the idea again this year and instead of using silicone strings, I'm using Pyramid nickel-plated copper wound over a nylon core - sort of jumbo classical guitar strings. The design I am using is by David Myka (I have his permission) and I have just assembled the prototype for initial evaluation. What I need to know is acceptable string heights over the 12th fret. The strings are so low tension that it is hard not getting overkill on the whoahh of the 1st string.
I've posted a very short vid herehttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-r8R-EkT ... WNkN-T4exg. Any help would be most welcome :)
Old guy making ukulele for a living

GC

Post by GC » Sun Apr 06, 2014 12:09 pm

Generally, you'll look to make it something that does not stretch the string materials much, as that would mess with the player's intonation on a per-string basis (different thicknesses of the same material will stretch different amounts even if the distance to the fingerboard is identical). That would indicate a very low action would be necessary.

String height at the nut is also very important. I generally prefer my fretless basses to have a string height at the nut roughly equal to an open string's height over the first fret on a fretted bass. Or even better, as not every luthier cuts the same string groove, equal to the height over the second fret when held down at the first.