Jazz bass Set up

t-rex665

Jazz bass Set up

Post by t-rex665 » Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:39 am

Hay Cats i'm new to the Fretless. i played Slab for 15yrs and bought a URB 1yr ago and loved the fretless feel. so i just bought a Squire Ventage Jazz fretless (looks like Jaco's) it sounds and plays beautiful but i was wondering if there are any guide lines on setting up like fender has on there site for setting up fretted jazz basses. ie: truse rod adj, string height, pickup height from strings all that kind of stuff. any info would be great Thanks.

FretLessSince68

Post by FretLessSince68 » Sat Jan 13, 2007 7:52 pm

You will find some of the information you asked for on other threads/topics on this board.

First, you need to know how to properly do basic setup adjustments common to most basses. It is a DIY proposition providing you have the right information and tools.

In order to suggest setup characteristics you need to tell us what sound you want, and also your playing style and type of music played.

As you are aware, setup is a personal issue, but there are similarities if a certain sound is the goal.
One good note makes my day.

t-rex665

Post by t-rex665 » Sun Jan 14, 2007 7:52 pm

Well Jaco of course!!!!!. but ya i love the MwAH. I read that i should file the nut down close to the fingerboard, but what exact thickness? and i like the strings close to the board so with a capo on the 1st and holding down the 12th what is the distance from the 7th to the string? for the trus rod. and the pickups how far away from the strings should the bridge and the neck pick ups be? that kind of Shit. anyway i read the other forums but i want exact #'s in mm. for a proper set up, then i can adjust to my liking. anyway thanks for replying i hope someone can help.

FretLessSince68

Post by FretLessSince68 » Mon Jan 15, 2007 12:02 am