Techniques for removing frets and finishing fingerboard

FretlessBass.com
Site Admin

Techniques for removing frets and finishing fingerboard

Post by FretlessBass.com » Mon Oct 02, 2006 12:35 pm

Our old message board had quite a bit of info regarding the removal of frets and different ways to finish the fingerboard. We are hoping that his new message board will provide a better forum for topics like this. Please post your experiences and techniques to help out the fretless community on thier conversion projects.

point19

My "de-fretting" experience

Post by point19 » Tue May 01, 2007 12:23 am

I am new to both this forum, and to the world of fretless bass. About a month ago, I had finally decided to take the plunge and "de-fret" an old Squier II P-bass that I had collecting dust.

This monster was my second bass (been playing for about 15 years on fretted instruments), and was just taking up space. Unable to bear the idea of throwing it or giving it away, I took off the strings and pondered how to go about getting the frets out.

My first idea was to grind the frets down with my Dremel. Halfway through my first one, I came to the conclusion that this was more tedious than I cared for. Additionally, I had scorched the fretboard (which is maple) a time or two. I then decided that extracting the frets would be a better option.

I remembered reading somewhere about a technique where you take a soldering iron and heat the fret up, making it easier to pull out. Guess what.... didn't work for me. I then decided to just pry those puppies out.

Using a small awl and a flathead screwdriver, I was able to remove all of the frets in a short amount of time. I took the awl and pushed it into the bottom side of the fretboard, just underneath the fret. When the fret began to pop up, I then took the screwdriver to pry it out. This did leave some damage, so it is not a technique that I recommend on anything you care about.