Not getting that fretless "tone"...

RadioFreeRich

Not getting that fretless "tone"...

Post by RadioFreeRich » Tue Apr 17, 2007 2:45 pm

I'm new to the fretless scene. I've just converted my Spector NS-2B to a lined-fretless (no epoxy on the rosewood fingerboard). This was my first attempt at any type of luthier work (let alone something of this magnatude). I have to admit, the result looks and feels pretty good, but it just doesn't have that "mwahh" tone that's so characteristic of fretless basses. I have it strung w/ D'Addario light-gauge, Chrome Flat-wound strings. Could it be the strings?? Any wisdom would be greatly appreciated!!
RadioFreeRich

bassclef

Post by bassclef » Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:50 pm

Yep....wrong strings.

If you want that growly mwahh sound you need to use roundwounds. All my fretless basses have them, wouldn't use anything else. I use D'Addario XL170's on both my Fender and Carvin fretless.

Flats are good if you are looking for more of a upright sound, but for the punch and the growl.....rounds.

And I know you will ask, "Won't that wear the fretboard down faster"

Yes it will, but I would not worry. I've yet to have any fretboard work done on my basses.

NickBass

Post by NickBass » Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:47 am

Bassclef is right, D'Addario Xl roundwound are killer strings, I've been using them in the last 7 years...anyway, I found that also DR strings are really nice, so I alternate between them...also, RadioFreeRich, if you want a growling sound, in my opinion you could cut some high frequencies from your amp and add some low (but without too compression) and a little bit of mid...this should crash some heads!

RadioFreeRich

RE: Not getting that fretless "tone"...

Post by RadioFreeRich » Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:31 am