HI from a new member!

basmster@wam.umd.edu

HI from a new member!

Post by basmster@wam.umd.edu » Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:45 pm

Hey everybody, my name is Randy and I'm new to fretless bass. I've read alot of the topics and threads posted and there are alot of good discussions going on here. I am impressed with all the knowledge of fretless basses. I was wondering if some of you could help me understand the world of no frets better. Heres my situation:

Someone I know is selling his fretless, he is not a bass player. He is selling it for $90. That price made me ask him to borrow it and now I'm trying it out for a week or so. It is made by SX which I never heard of. But I'm pretty sure its made in China and I'm pretty sure its a cheap bass. It is a bolt on neck, only 20 frets, 5 strings, two J-style pickups, and passive electronics.

I guess my question is does anyone know of SX basses? Is $100 a fair price for their basses? I like a warm tone to my sound and the bolt on neck is def not a plus for the bass. What do you all think? I also dont like that its only 20 frets (u know what I mean). Would I have to spend alot of money to improve this bass from what it is?

Finally this is my first fretless bass if I were to buy it. Maybe its a good bass to start on..I don't know. But I am a professional musician and expect quality peformance out of my equipment. Maybe some of you more experienced fretless players can tell me if the specs I mentioned do hinder good sound or playing in a bass. Thank you all and I look forward to learning from you.

Peace
Randy

NickBass

Post by NickBass » Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:39 am

Hi Randy, welcome to the board!
Talking about SX basses, they're very cheap instruments, some of my pupils use them even if I've never seen one fretless...
My suggestion is: if you're looking for a professional instrument better spare money and wait!